Committee Composition

Board of Directors Audit Nominating and Governance Compensation
Kenneth Bate

Kenneth Bate has served as a member of our board of directors since September 2014. Mr. Bate is currently a director of AVEO Pharmaceuticals, Catabasis Pharmaceuticals, Epizyme Inc and Vanda Pharmaceuticals. Mr. Bate previously served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Archemix Corp. and NitroMed Inc., Chief Financial Officer of Millennium Pharmaceuticals Inc. and Biogen Inc., and co-founded JSB Partners LLC, a banking and advisory services firm for biopharmaceutical and life sciences companies. He holds a M.B.A. from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania and a B.A. from Williams College.

Katrine Bosley (chair)

Katrine Bosley has served as a member of our board of directors since March 2013 and as our chairperson since August 2013. Ms. Bosley is the Chief Executive Officer of Editas Medicine Inc. ("Editas"), a position to which she was appointed in June 2014. Prior to Editas, Ms. Bosley was the Entrepreneur-in-Residence at The Broad Institute from September 2013 to May 2014. She served as Chief Executive Officer of Avila Therapeutics Inc. ("Avila"), from May 2009 to March, 2012, when Avila was acquired by Celgene Corporation. Before Avila, she was Vice President, Strategic Operations at Adnexus Therapeutics Inc. ("Adnexus"), a Bristol-Myers Squibb Company and was Vice President, Business Development at Adnexus before that. She joined Adnexus from Biogen Idec where she held roles in business development, commercial operations, and portfolio strategy in the United States and Europe and led the in-licensing of Tysabri (natalizumab) among a number of other transactions. Earlier, she was part of the healthcare team at the venture firm Highland Capital Partners from 1993 to 1995. In addition to serving as a director of our Company, Ms. Bosley currently serves as a director of Galapagos NV and Scholar Rock LLC. She also is a member of the BIO Governing Board for Emerging Companies. Ms. Bosley graduated from Cornell University with a B.A. in Biology.

Ron Cooper

Ron Cooper has served as a member of our board of directors since June 2016. Mr. Cooper is President and CEO of Albireo Pharma, a position that he was appointed in June 2015. Ron is a life sciences leader with a track record of growing and rejuvenating businesses, brands and organizations – ranging from entrepreneurial, resource-constrained, up to $4.5 billion – in the U.S. and Europe. Prior to Albireo, he was with Bristol-Myers Squibb for over 25 years working in five different countries and holding positions of increasing responsibility in sales, marketing and general management culminating in President of Europe. In Europe, he was responsible for over 30 countries with sales exceeding $4.5 Billion. While at BMS, Ron was directly associated with several product successes, including Abilify®,Avapro®,Atripla®,Eliquis®,Orencia®,Pravachol®, Plavix®, Reyataz® Sustiva® Sprycel®, and Yervoy® He has successfully completed over a dozen business development deals including the creation of the first single tablet HIV/AIDS regimen partnership. Ron is a graduate of St. Francis Xavier University in Canada.

Michael Higgins

Michael Higgins has served as a member of our board of directors since February 2015.  In January 2015, Mr. Higgins joined Polaris Venture Partners as an Entrepreneur-in-Residence.  Prior to joining Polaris Venture Partners, Mr. Higgins served as Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer at Ironwood Pharmaceuticals ("Ironwood") from 2003 through 2014, playing a key role in Ironwood’s evolution from a privately-funded discovery organization through its initial public offering and the launch of its first commercial product.  Under his leadership, the company was able to raise more than one billion dollars to help support the development of the business during that period.  Prior to his work at Ironwood, from 1997 through 2003, Mr. Higgins worked at Genzyme Corporation ("Genzyme") in a variety of leadership roles including Vice President, Corporate Finance and Vice President, Business Development.  While at Genzyme, he was involved with multiple businesses including the Cell Therapy, Gene Therapy, and Orphan Disease business units.  Previously, Mr. Higgins served as Chief Financial Officer of Procept, Inc., from 1992 to 1997 and led the company through its initial public offering. Mr. Higgins currently serves as a director of Pulmatrix, Inc. and Voyager Therapeutics. Mr. Higgins began his pharmaceutical career as a sales representative for Schering-Plough Corporation in 1986.  Mr. Higgins earned his B.S. from Cornell University and holds a M.B.A. from the Amos Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College.

Howard Mayer, M.D.

Howard Mayer, M.D. has served as a member of our board of directors since March 2017. Dr. Mayer is currently senior vice president and head of global clinical development at Shire plc.  Dr. Mayer joined Shire in 2012 and is responsible for global clinical development across hematology, immunology, oncology, genetic diseases, GI/metabolic, neuroscience and ophthalmology therapeutic areas. Previously he served as chief medical officer at EMD Serono, a division of Merck KGaA, since 2009. Prior to that, he held a variety of global roles at Pfizer Inc. including head of clinical development and medical affairs for Virology/Infectious Diseases. Prior to joining Pfizer, he served as director of Infectious Diseases Clinical Research at Bristol-Myers Squibb for five years. Dr. Mayer obtained his BA from the University of Pennsylvania and his M.D. from Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York, which was followed by an internship and residency at Mount Sinai Hospital and an Infectious Diseases fellowship at Harvard Medical School. He currently serves on the scientific advisory boards of Macrolide Pharmaceuticals, and Arsanis Biosciences, and has served on the board of Autism Speaks in New England since 2011 and on the board of the Melmark Charitable Foundation since 2016. In 2011, he was honored by PharmaVoice as one of the 100 Most Inspiring People in the Life Sciences Industry.

= Chair of the Board
= Chair
= Member